Stenciled Watercolour Background

Hi Creative Ones,

I’ve been experimenting recently with watercolour. I enjoy what a forgiving medium it is. Even my mistakes turn out beautifully. I made two Congratulations “Wedding” cards using watercolour and make – shift stencils. Enjoy these washes of watercolour.

PicMonkey Collage

 

IMG_3041

 

For Card #1

I watercoloured some hearts on Stathmore watercolour paper ensuring that each heart had 2 colours. For the shape of the heart, I used a heart shaped chipboard sticker sheet after the sticker was removed.

IMG_3030.JPG

I sprinkled gold Speedball ink on top of the hearts. I had bought mine at Screen Art and Printing, one of my favourite supply stores in Jamaica! In my internet search, I only found an extremely expensive alternative on Amazon which I’m not even going to link. Thankfully, you can just use acrylic paint for this and the effect will be similar.

I then used this Simon Says Stamp Congratulations stamp with Versamark ink and WOW gold embossing powder to heat emboss the sentiment.

IMG_3028.JPG

I attached the sentiment by folding at the edges and adhering them to the back of the watercolour sheet. I then attached the finished sheet to a red card base.

The finished card measures 4.5 x 5.5.

For Card #2

IMG_3036

Using a similar flower stencil, I watercoloured using only shades of green for this card. I stamped the sentiment from the same stamp set and placed a heart from My Mind’s Eye Jubilee chipboard stickers.

IMG_3033

To mount the card I cut two pieces of craft foam that were a bit smaller than my panel and adhered them together and to the card base.

That’s it!

PicMonkey Collage

Thank You for stopping by and don’t forget to checkout my YouTube channel and Instagram!

See you next time.

Love,

g6951

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

