cards

Birthday Shaker Card | DCWV and Heidi Swapp

Hi Creative ones!

Shaker cards are a favourite of mine. They quickly give that “WOW” factor to any card without a lot of work. I made a quick card for a coworker’s birthday using designer paper from DCWV Mariposa Collection and Heidi Swapp Wanderlust Collection. Follow the links as you move through the post to view all the supplies I used. 🙂

IMG_3117

I cut the flowers out of the Heidi Swapp Wanderlust Collection paper and used versamark inkclear embossing powder  and heat gun to heat emboss the entire flower. I did this on four flowers. Ensure your flower is not exposed to the gun for too long or the paper will burn.

IMG_3095

 

I then cut my beige cardstock to give me a 5.5 x 4.25 inch card base (4.25 x 11 inch paper folded in half). From the DCWV Mariposa paper I cut two 5.5 x 4.25 inch rectangles. One I adhered to the front of my card base and the other I folded in two and cut a fancy window to form my shaker area. I then cut a piece of white craft foam in the same shape as the fancy window piece so that it could form a backing for my shaker window.

IMG_3098

I adhered acetate to the back side of the cut out window ensuring that the adhesive was placed on the edges of the paper to prevent adhesive from showing through on the acetate. I then adhered the craft foam to the covered window and threw my sequins and beads inside.

I covered the back of the foam mounted piece with another piece of acetate to prevent the sequins from escaping and adhered everything to my card base.

IMG_3099

It is important that at each step involving foam/sequins that the card is left to dry completely before moving on or the sequins may escape through poorly sealed areas in the card.

I then placed a small “Celebrate” sticker from My Minds Eye “Fancy That” Cardstock Stickers on the window.

I hope this inspires you to create a birthday shaker of your own. Let me know your favourite type of card to make in the comments below!

Thanks for stopping by!

Love,

g6951

 

 

Leave a comment